Menu

Maricopa County & Surrounding Areas

Phoenix / Tempe / Scottsdale / Mesa / Chandler / Gilbert
/ Glendale City Court / Town Court / Justice Court / Superior Court

Super Extreme DUI – 1st Time Super Extreme DUI – Arizona Revised Statute §28-1382

Super Extreme DUI – although not appearing by name in any of the law books – is what Attorneys refer to as a DUI with a Blood Alcohol Content Above a .20.The Legislature decided to punish those people who were tested to be Above a .20 BAC within two hours of Driving or being in Actual Physical Control of a Vehicle. The fines and fees for a conviction such as this are substantial. Along with the required fines and fees, there is required alcohol counseling, an Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 18 months, and an enormous amount of jail time, especially considering that it is a 1st Time Offense.A 1st Time Super Extreme DUI has a sentencing range of 45 days, up to 6 months, in jail.While it is still considered a Misdemeanor, Arizona does consider this a very serious offense, and wishes to severely drop a hammer on anyone who is behind the wheel of a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content nearly three times the legal limit.What can be done if you are charged with a Super Extreme DUI? Like many things, it depends on a number of different factors, including the individual facts of the case, the court, the judge, and the DUI Defense Lawyer.A Super Extreme DUI charge is a pretty serious offense, but with the right DUI Defense Attorney, it is possible to navigate around the potential dangers and into something beneficial to the client.

1st Time Super Extreme DUI Sentence:

  • 45 days to 6 months in jail
  • Approx. $3,200 minimum in fines and fees
  • Alcohol Counseling
  • License Suspension
  • Possible Probation
  • Possible SR22 High Risk Insurance required
  • Possible Community Service
  • 18 months Ignition Interlock Device

2nd Time Super Extreme DUI Sentence

– alleging a prior DUI conviction within seven years, although it doesn’t matter what type of prior DUI conviction it was (Regular / Extreme / Super Extreme), only what the new charge is):

  • 6 months in jail
  • Approx. $3,200 minimum in fines and fees
  • Alcohol Counseling
  • License Suspension
  • Possible Probation
  • Possible SR22 High Risk Insurance required
  • Possible Community Service
  • 2 year Ignition Interlock Device

Keep in mind that with an experienced DUI Defense Lawyer – like the ones on the AZ DUI Team – even a required jail sentence can be reduced down with certain options, such as Home Arrest, Continuous Alcohol Monitoring, and Suspension of Sentence for Ignition Interlock Device, depending on the court and judge.

 

A Cup Of Coffee With 10 Of The Top
DUI Attorneys In The United States

Guest Author: Attorney Brian Sloan

3,500+ DUI Cases Successfully Defended